Countywide safety action plans kick off

The Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) is working with six counties in northeastern Illinois to create safety action plans in response to increasing traffic fatalities — particularly among pedestrians and bicyclists — over the past several years.

The six counties — Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will — will develop safety action plans as part of CMAP’s safety program, Safe Travel for All Roadmap (STAR). The plans will identify context-specific strategies to improve roadway safety for all users, particularly for people walking, biking, or using a wheelchair.

STAR is implemented by CMAP and is primarily funded by a $4 million federal Safe Streets and Roads for All grant, with additional funding support from the Illinois Department of Transportation and county partners.

What’s new? The countywide safety action plans have kicked off! Planners are establishing steering committees and community outreach strategies to understand challenges and opportunities in each county. Stay tuned for information on how you can get involved.

Read about this and more in the safety newsletter.